Winged beans

Introduction

Long ago at a restaurant I was served winged beans at a meal in india. Oh I dint know it was called winged beans. I dint even know what it was called in any language but I knew it taste. I know how it would look when cooked but I have never seen it at any market. Many years passed and a month ago my sister in law cooked the same vegetable for lunch. I was so eager to find out the name of this vegetable and started asking her. Thats when I learnt that it was called “dambala” in sinhala. She also told me its available in the local market.
My recent visit to the vegetable section at diyatha uyana at rajagiriya close to waters edge helped me find these winged beans and I was so excited to get cooking and stary discovering.  Today I finally cooked winged beans. My husband taught me what these so called “damabala” is in English. Now I know it’s called winged beans. Begore I started cooking these beans for the first time my sister in law and hubbys cousin gave me two simple tips which I followed exactly.

#Tips

1) clean the winged beans like the normal green beans.
2) always make sure not to over cook which will destroy the crispness of the vegetable.

My recipe to make stir fried winged beans in just 15 minutes.

Ingredients

500 gms winged beans (4 cups chopped)
1/2 an onion (chopped)
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1/2 teaspoon chillie powder
1 teaspoon chillie flakes
1 teaspoon coconut milk
Salt to taste
1 tablespoon oil (any type/brand)

Method

1) clean and cut the winged beans into thin slices.
2) heat oil in a apan over a high flame and add the beans and onions.
3) sprinkle salt and the two spices with 1 teaspoon coconut milk.
4) Give it a quick mix and reduce heat to medium low.
5) keep closed and cook for 5-6 minutes until tender by sprinkling a hand full of water.
6) open the lid and stir over a high flame for a couple of minutes and take off heat.

Serve hot with a choice of rice ( plain/yellow/ghee/cumin rices)

image

image

mafaza

4 thoughts on “Winged beans

Leave a Reply

