Love for Seafood

Since childhood until today I’ve had only fish and prawns. When I was twelve I remember my dad bringing squid from the market and my mum refuse to clean as she hates to cook any seafood apart from fish and prawns. Ofcourse she has never tried her hand with squid. So my dad starts cooking the squid by himself singing a song

my dear dallo

My dear dallo

Dallo is the sinhalese word for squid. I tasted my dads dallo and fell in love with it. My dad is a good cook 🙂 When I was 22 my uncle got some crabs from the market and got it devilled especially for us and we all tried a tint piece which was barely anything that would help us fall in love with. Many years have passed and pregnancy created a hate for seafood in me and soon after coming to srilanka for delivery my sister in law treated us at a newly opened seafood restaurant.  I was so taken in by the looks and atmosphere in the first place. The contemporary interior was so enjoyable for a pair of eyes that was yearning for some relaxed location to dine in peace with a slow music playing somewhere in a distance. The manhattan fish market was a franchise opened in srilanka with an array of seafood cooked in western style served hot and prepared fresh. The menu was overwhelming.  An enthusiasm over poured in myself chasing away the pregnancy moods and bringing in a craving as if I was in my early stages. The lobster was one thing I wanted to try.  The large lobster platter was beautifully grilled just before serving right in front of our eyes in an adventurous way. Next in order was the prawn and calamari dishes. Having tasted the lobster for the first time in my life I almost crave for lobster now. The adventure image All mains were grilled using a torch the mains wpid-2013-06-07-21.24.25.jpg The grilled prawns wpid-2013-06-07-21.12.18.jpg Our calamari and muscles platter Favoutite Beverages wpid-2013-10-07-01.44.28.png The mint and lime crusher The dessert wpid-2013-10-07-01.43.01.png Brownies with ice cream and hot caramel. I would give the restaurant a 10/10 star. mafaza

Leave a Reply

