Falling in love with Doklas

It was through the hindi drama “Saath nibhana saathiya” I got to know of doklas. I have seen how they made doklas in the drama. It’s not a cookery show yet I got to have a glimps of a few step of making doklas. They used to steam the dokla batter and I’ve seen the cooked doklas which was yellow in color and serve in small cubes with a chutney.

As I shopped at carrefour and lulu hyoermarkets in dubai I came across these ready to cook dokla mixtures which could be prepared in 5 minutes on a microwave. I grabbed the pack and desided to try it out. Very excited to try this new recipe I wanted to make using a ready mix pack instead of following a recipe As I’ve never tasted doklas before.
The first time I tasted doklas I fell in love with the food. Even my hubby liked it. Doklas were soft and delicious with a slight sour taste which availed from the yogurt and I served it with homemade coconut and green chillie chutney which was prepared in just 5 minutes.
The real india look appeared on the green chillie and coconut chutney with the tempered oniins and curry leaves which was forming a layer on top with the help of the hot oil.
A very easy and healthy dinner ready on a jiffy.
Doklas are prepared using three types of flours, salt, yogurt and a bit of water.
You can serve with tomato chutney as well.

Ideal for dinner or breakfast.
The ready mix Keeps well in the fridge for upto three days.

IMG_3422 DSCF0284

Leave a Reply

