Food story : Zataar for the first time

My first time using zataar was an unforgettable experience.
I forgot to add olive oil and salt to the zataar mixture and added onmy water. It tasted ok to me yet for the srilankan taste bud it was an unpalatable taste.
My family in srilanka who tasted zataar for the first time just didn’t like it due to my forgetful mistake.

first impression is the best impression

How true are these proverbs.
The second time I made the zataar keema pizza my sisters lost their appetite and dint wanna taste it.
Just to please me they tasted a slice and to my dismay there was extra salt in it.

Learning from mistakes

I added extra salt to boil the beef and in a hurry made the keema mixture in the same pan.

Always read the recipe of even the simplest dish your gonna try just before yourl start. Thats something I dint do before starting my zataar manakish recipe.

Points to remember

Always make sure you use a seperate pan to make your filling if you accidentally add more salt to boil your meat.

Always prepare ahead so that you dont need to rush and kill others appetite like I did.

Introducing different flavors and cuisines to your family should be done with experience. Try out the dishes you wanna share with your family a few times ahead so that you nail it to perfection. I dint do it and thats what was my fault in the first place.

image

image
The plain zataar with water on top of the pizza dough just ready to be baked.

image
Dry and hard out of the oven.
Some olive oil would have enhanced the flavors and made the top moist.

mafaza

Leave a Reply

