Zataar keema pizza

Introduction

Arabian cuisine has always encouraged me to try new dishes. Zataar was introduced to me through manakish at man2ooshe and I fell in love with the spice. As I saw the zataar on display at Carrefour I quickly grabbed a little and came home. Once I was home I started to stumble online for recipes and finally decided to introduce the zataar with meat to my Sri Lankan family. Usually a keema is done with a mix of various spices but I got a delicious keema with just only zataar and pepper powder. I myself am really amazed how the Arabian flavor has enhanced the keema curry with the help of those dried herbs and sumac. This experiment has encouraged me to try new recipes using zataar.

ZATAAR KEEMA PIZZA

Pizza Dough

Ingredients 

3 cups flour
Salt to taste
2 teaspoon olive oil or margarine
2 teaspoon yeast
Water as required

Instructions

Mix all ingredients together and knead into a smooth and soft dough.
Leave aside to rise for an hour.
Roll into a flat circle and place on a tray.

Meat keema

Ingredients

1 cup meat

1 medium onion (chopped)

1 teaspoon crushed pepper
2 teaspoon zataar spice
2 teaspoon zataar with sumac
Salt to taste
1tablesoon olive oil or melted butter

 

Cheddar for topping

Instruction

Clean, wash and boil the meat.
Sauté meat and onions in a pan over high heat with teaspoon of olive oil or margarine

Season with salt and pepper to taste and add the two zataar mixes.
Spread over the prepared dough.

Grate and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top and bake at 150 degrees C for 20 minutes on a pre heated oven.

My images

 

 

zataar keema topped

zataar keema topped

 

 

cheessy on top ofkeema

cheessy on top of keema

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

