Sri Lankan Wedding feast – Buriyani

Its not only during the two eid festivals we eat buriyani but even at every wedding we serve buriyani to the guests here in srilanka.
Although the buriyani all tastes good there is a special taste in buriyani served at a wedding house. Its the happiness and celebration that brings ouf such a unique taste.
Ofcourse buriyani is really tasty no matter whether it is srilankan, Pakistani, hydrebadi, mogul, bombay or even madras. I love buriyani and I used to have it on weekends in dubai and then I started liking mandhi due its different taste and flavor.
I was so happy to hear I had a couple of weddings to attend during my vacation in srilanka. And the last wedding I attended until today was a far relatives. This particular wedding was different to the normal weddings. The reason why this wedding was different is the theme. The theme was brown and gold with the thrown being made of like birds nest. The candles floating in huge vases of oil. The drink being not just the comman elephant house soft drink but the sarasaripillai syrup aka nannari in tamil and thats how we srilankans call it. Its a syrup thats diluted in water. It has its own natural sweetness for those who prefer less sugar and you can add more sugar to serve the sweet toothed. This particular drink was so matching the theme color and tasted good. The bride was from so did I here and the dinner they served was buriyani but it tasted so good.
I was invited through the bridegroom’s side so we had the opportunity to sit in the front and enjoy the buriyani in peace. I ate a bit too extra and dint leave a single bit of that watalappam.

I remember my wedding when I dint have time to finish my buriyani and watalappam as there were so many guests whom I had to say hi, bye and thank you which gave no time except for 4-5 mouths of buriyani. We had to leave our dinner and walk back to the aisle and pose for pictures with the guests who were already prepared to leave and waiting for us. Well it was an unforgettable day 🙂 I still feel bad for not being able to finish the dinner that was served on my plate.

image

image

image

the watalappam and nannari (sarasaripillai drink)

the watalappam and nannari (sarasaripillai drink)

the spread of buriyni and accompaniying dishes

the spread of buriyni and accompaniying dishes

the side dishes

the side dishes

2013-09-29 21.09.41

Leave a Reply

