An international buffet: the Kingsbury, harbour lounge

A pending post almost a month old. It was the same week we went on for dinner at the mount lavinia hotel colombo.  This time it was a sending off dinner for the same arab client but the location was different.

We reached the hotel at 8:30 pm in a rush soon after shopping at the newly opened house of fashion.  The dinner was unscheduled and was called in at 8pm.
Visiting the Kingsbury hotel and chatting over a glass of fresh orange juice at the pool side cafe it was a very fine day with heavy wind from the sea across the hotel.
The hotel was busy with security and stuff as the CHOGM day was around the corner while the delegates started arriving and were provided accommodation at the Kingsbury hotel.

The long awaited buffet

When I was first taken into dine at the Kingsbury hotel we walked over to the harbour room where the had a large selection of international cuisine lined up for a reasonable price. Walking around the buffet table I was slightly disturbed by the pork display amongst all the meat and some at the salad section. Turning away without proceeding to dine in there we were directed towards the ocean. Although pleased and really happy for the food that was available my mind was so much into the large buffet table at the restaurant next door. The vivid colours of salad and desserts aroused my appetite and was always making me wish the meals were prepared seperate and clean while I also wished the pork dint exist everyday.
The advertisements on the paper during ramazan which indicated the ramazan ifthar buffet persuaded me to trust that good must be prepared clean and well to give all muslims a chance to experience fine food buffet.
The restaurant had many muslim customers. It was time for me to try my hands on this luscious spread of food.
I bet I dint taste everything available yet I did go for the unique and original.

The buffet in pictures

image

The lovely display of baguettes and cheese made me capture them into my phone.

image

I went in for some pies and the were of many varieties. I loved all I served.  The one to the left topped with dark chocolate sauce is a few pineapple pieces dipped in a batter and deep fried. Served with some chocolate fudge. Usually it is served in  a separate plate with a scoop of ice cream and some chocolate sauceon top. I was in a hurry so I served it on with all my desserts.
image

Srilankan food is two words and when am abroad I can get a long list of srilankan food but if am srilanka there is none that I really enjoy than the crispy hoppers. An egg in the centre is egg hoppers while a few spoons of jaggery syrup makes it jaggery hoppers.
image

the chef who made the hoppers looked a bit shy when I tried taking a few photographs yet he did a good hopper for me.
image

The dessert table
image

Sauces and jams
image

A display of some srilankan sweets

image

The cakes and puddings
image

The pickles and salsa
image

A few salads
image

More desserts
image

image

Oh yea they have some super delicious salads. The health conscious can now go on a buffet dinner. Pick thise salads and am sure those struggling like myself to create a healthy meal would get a lot of ideas. Now I can stop boring my husband with the same kind of vegetables in his salad bowl.
image

image

image

image

My starter the red fruit which is called lovi in sl was so sour.
image

My main course. Just a bit of a few things.

Oh yea the Arabic penne pasta section. They have many designs of pasta with a wide selection of sauces to accompany. I love that pasta jar.
image

image

image

The mains section
image

image

The traditional method in a modern equipment.  Loved those naans. The chef who prepared these naans was so helpful in taking these photos and made sure I got the naan in there on my camera which is why he took the picture. I couldn’t reach that far.
image

So when a food blogger goes to a buffet this is what she ends up with. Loads of images on food, food and food only.
Eat what you can even though you pay for more than you eat. Usually people serve a lot on everything and waste the food. We all should follow one rule on a buffet which is to taste from everything on the buffet table but do not serve more than what you can taste. People stay hungry and there are many people who struggle and die of hunger.  We can never help everyone but we can stop wasting food.

Waste not, want not

Everything has a limit so does food.
According to me buffets are to help people taste everything but not eat everything.
We can never try out different types of food in a la carte restaurant unlike in a buffet where the price is same whatever you eat and you hardly will be able to eat anything as each order has its limits and own prices.  Buffet meals are for those looking for a different sort of dinning experience while enjoying the variety of food.
So I have developed a policy that I go to the right place that has a variety of options and serves international food. This way I get the chance if exploring food while travelling and discover the different flavors in food from around the world in one place.

So choose wise and enjoy the variety

Mafaza

mafaza

Leave a Reply

