My pakoras

Indian food has delicious names.
When ever I read an indian menu am so excited to try them all.
I love buriyani.
I never mastered the art of making idly or thosa but there are a few snacks I crave for during my tea or on a rainy day. Its none apart from the baked goodies such as scones, pies and pastries, it’s the very famous mouth-watering and delicious indian pakoras, bondas and the wadey. These snacks are readily available all over to buy at a very reasonable price but do they all have the same quality as home-made is questionable.   of course every food we buy at stores and restaurants are not perfectly clean and made to meet the high standards of a health ministry yet they are all delicious.  I don’t talk about those 5 star hotels that sell the small stuff for a high price. I am also not against any small businesses but am talking about the luxury and satisfaction a simple home-made snack can create. Lazy days can be ignorant days. But this time I was so hyperactive to try something indian and show off to my family.
I decided to fry pakoras and the next day I fried some bondas. The magic is that some leftover bonda batter turned into a delicious wadey.
Sometimes indian food seem like the simplest of all yet delicious. That’s a thought out loud of an indian food addict.
Generally sambars are prepared as a one pot curry with many vegetables and I have seen some people add mutton into it, that mutton sambar tasted so delicious and yummy. It was many years ago in southern india. Coming back to my pakoras, I only added a few onions, capsicum, curry leaves and seasoned with some salt, chillie powder, chillie flakes and turmeric powder. I mixed an equal portion of gram flour with wheat flour and baking powder, seasoned it with salt and chillie powder.
I then mixed both the mixture together by adding a few drops of water only to combine the two sets of ingredients.
Deep fried in hot oil the pakoras were drizzling with a shiny golden brown color, crispy and warm waiting till the crunchiness is crushed.

I don’t measure my ingredients and I call it free style cooking. A beginner needs to start with measurements while an expert knows whats required and how much when it comes to cooking your day-to-day meals and snacks. Of course you will need to measure the ingredients when your making something special.

I made bondas a fried ball fritters with a potato filling with my same batter but a bit too thick and smooth to coat the potato balls.
There was a bit of the batter left and I fried them into small wadey with some kooni isso (dried shrimps).
The best comment was from my brother who has told my sister that “how great I am at making a snack out of scratch and simple ingredients”.

image
image
image

One Recipe 3 snacks

Ingredients
Gram flour 1 cup
Wheat flour 1 cup
Salt to taste
Chillie powder as required
A few pinches Baking powder

Method
Mix all ingredients with a bit of water for a cake batter consistency.

Bonda – Dip in a ball of potato curry and deep fry. For potato curry temper onions, curry leaves, mustard seeds in a bit of oil. Mash in boiled potatoes and season with salt, turmeric powder, chillie powder, pepper powder and a tablespoon of coconut milk. Mix well and cool. Make balls and dip.
Wadey – add some onions, curry leaves, chillie flakes, dried shrimps and carrots if you like. Deep fry a small teaspoon of the mixture.
pakoras – do not make batter with water if you’re gonna make pakoras. Add the dry ingredients over a bowl filled with onions, capsicum, green chillies, curry leaves and coat. Sprinkle a few drops of water to prevent the flour from sticking to the bowl making sure the ingredients are incorporated evenly. Deep fry until crispy and serve hot.

Update-
Hello there its 25th December and Christmas around the world am updating my post on how I used the same ingredients to make my favourite ash plantain bajjis yesterday. The batter was a bit thick but same ingredients. Am so happy that I have perfectioned my culinary skills in making some indian snacks. No pictures yet but will upload the next time.
Happy holidays
mafaza

Leave a Reply

