Like a Tourist in Colombo- 200th blog post

29th DECEMBER 2013

It’s a couple of days away from the new year 2014 and a time to celebrate my blogs 200th post.
I wanted my 200th blog post to be a memorable one with a bit more of delicacy, organic and colorful with pictures. I Stumbled upon ideas and books and finally got something extraordinary to post and share with my valuable readers and followers.

A day out with my 5 and a half month old son and my two sisters to the good market at the crescat boulevard was my plan. Let me update you on about the good market.
The good market is an initiative to promote local and organic produce of sri lanka. It highlights vendors who have all sorts of food that display lankan trends and ingredients. Most products are all natural, local, organic and some hand made.
My aim was to eat some fresh and raw fruits with salt and chillie at the achcharu kadey stall.

My photo story

At the Good Market

 

 

image

image
Sri lankan handmade products.
image
The achcharu kadey

Komala komadu the latest fruit added to the menu at the achcharu kadey.

image
imageThe juices that reminds of sri lanka to me.

coming home tired of roaming around for an hour I was greeted with this chocolate and caramel milk made by my brother

It was delicious and better than Cioconut lounges hot caramel.

At the lagoon cinnamon grand

I received the invitation for dinner but I was not in a mood for party yet I decided to join and celebrate the memorable day in my sister in laws life. I took a tuk tuk all the way down to cinnamon grand. The ride was superb. Colombo is even more beautiful at night while the atmosphere was windy and smells of fresh grass when you pass the vihara maha devi park now renovated and reopened.
image
The two photo’s between this sentence goes to an inquisitive panda my cousin in law hafsa mazahim.
image

The lagoon a seafood restaurant at cinnamon grand with a poolside outdoor seating had such a serene atmosphere.
It was really an unforgettable and romantic dinner. A celebration of 10 years bonding of two good people in a relationship of marriage was the purpose of the dinner. The dinner was hosted by my very own sister in law and her husband. Chatting and giggle over a few glasses and cutlery that lay upon the table while sipping in some lemonade and pepsi or the lankan favourite ginger beer was my bunch of lovely cousins in law. Missing my husband and chatting a few words on whatsapp while cuddling my sleepy son I was so happy to own my new pink shawl (it was so comfortable). The wind from the trees surrounding the dinning area cheers and talking of the customers, waiters moving around serving bunches of very hungry customers, flash light of photographys clicked from all sides of the table made the atmosphere even more enjoyable and casual.
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The Food

While Sipping in some lemonade the starter was served which took me down memory lane. The very delicious batter fried tiny fishes were the starters with an ordinary ketchup exactly the same taste as mount lavinia hotel in colombo.
It took some time for the main course to be served which was freshly prepared while the customers awaited in the kitchen that was also visible through the restaurants inner seating area and partially visible from the outdoor seatings.
The main courses were served just before my son started crying for his main course.
image
image
image
image
image
A dish of sauted prawns and squid was also served with an extra bowl or noodles.
The food was delicious.
The Ambience was perfect.
You can find out more about the good market at https://m.facebook.com/thegoodmarketcolombo

They’ve got some lovely stuff that you might like to check out. If your planning to vacation in sri lanka good market and diyatha uyana is two places you should check in and try.

One thought on “Like a Tourist in Colombo- 200th blog post

Leave a Reply

