Food Story : My Home Garden

Wandering around in a 3 by 4 metre garden with a mango tree and some plants which I barely can name except the rose plant and the lime plant which now happens to be a mandarin plant.
I have never seen raw mandarins and assumed that the plant that we have in our garden is a lime plant. Well they are in small pots which is 12 inches in diameter and has a two feet height with the plant. Many mandarins have appeared yet none of us bothered to pluck it nor taste it until this day due to the busy life.  Ofcourse my sisters do take some time to water the plants and yea they are not my plants literally as my mum bought them. I love plants that provide fruits and flowers. I remember the days when I was around 12 I used to water the large mango tree that later provided us with mangoes. I used to pull the hose and water all trees that were big and small those thoughts make me think how childish I’ve been to water a fully grown mango tree.
The mango tree which started bearing mango provided us with many buckets of mango which were so delicious. 
We ate it raw as an achcharu or ripe as a fruit.  I probably have a post planned with mango in 3 ways.
Getting back to the mandarin plant I touched the tiny mandarin which had a shade of light yellow in it’s skin. I felt the soft and juicy flesh from the outside of it’s hard skin and decided to pluck it. The lemony strong and sour aroma was so similar to that of a lime or lemon that I asked my grandma and cousin if its lime that has got rotten. I soon started peeling the skin which came off easily and revealed the ingredient. It was a mandarin.  Light yellow flesh over layed beneath the thin white pip that had a spider web design protecting the pulp of the mandarin from getting sqeezed and preserving the shape of the fruit. Discovering that mandarins grow in my garden I was all smiles with happiness and ideas overflowing in my head while the first idea was to blog about the discovery.
I separated the mandarins into 6 pieces and served it with a few crystals of salt. Tasting my own home grown mandarin which was very sour and made my 5 and a half month old give a funny facial expression which is priceless while I was so enjoying the mandarin.
image
Above the mandarin plant
Below the mandarin peeled half.
image
It’s the new year and am so excited to discover more food and travel all around sri lanka before my vacation comes to a conclusion amidst my busy schedule I’ve got some exciting stuff planned keep up with my blog to learn more.
Follow me on instagram or twitter if you find difficulty to follow my blog.
Welcome 2014 🙂

mafaza

Leave a Reply

