Poori ka magic

My cousin started discussing the magic that makes the poori puff and asked for the recipe.
She said “I wonder how poori is made, it’s so soft and crispy and I wonder how it puffs like papadam.” I poked in like a big foodie and mentioned “it’s so simple heat oil and add the pooris, and keep taking the hot oil in the pan by a spoon and pouring on top of the poori which will make it puff”. She was so in doubt if am telling the truth which made me make pooris for dinner to assure her that what I told was the truth.

How I Iearnt to make pooris and when is an old story. I used to watch sirasa good morning sri lanka 7 years ago and they had a good cookery show which demonstrated all sorts of recipes and I used to write some on a book. I never tried any recipes and thats when my addiction to food and cooking started. It’s almost 7 years now Every week I followed the programme and wrote down recipes.  Later on I wrote recipes from online sites. 
My mum used to collect recipes from newspapers and she has them all pasted in a book. I guess thats the gene and addiction I’ve adopted.
My dad love food and enjoys eating so I am literally born to foodie parents.
Getting back to my pooris, so last night I made pooris with potato curry. Here is my recipe to poori.
Many chefs and recipes complicate a simple poori recipe by adding curd or yogurt or sometimes bringing it down to one particular ingredient like ghee which they mention as irreplaceable. But trust me there is always an option and substitute when it comes down to a recipe. Am now in the hunt to list down substitutes.
Well, getting back to the subject my pooris have only one compulsory rule it is to add half and half of wheat flour and atta flour. Those two ingredients is what makes the pooris restaurant quality.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cup atta flour (chappati flour)
1 1/2 cup wheat flour
1 tablespoon ghee/butter/margarine/oil
1 teaspoon Salt
Water as required

Method
Mix all ingredients and knead to a soft and smooth dough.
Make tiny balls about 1 and a half inch diameter.
Flour the work surface and roll into small flat circles.
Deep fry in hot oil turning over to cook evenly on both sides by pouring hot oil from the pan over the poori to make it puff.
Never close the pooris soon after frying as  closing will make the pooris soggy.
Serve sandwiched with hot potato curry.

Potato curry

Ingredients
4 large potatoes boiled
2 medium onions chopped
3 green chillies chopped
A few curry leaves
2 inch pandan leaf
1/2 teaspoon mustard seeds
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1 teaspoon chillie powder
1 tablespoon thick coconut milk
Salt to taste
2 tablespoon oil

Method
Temper onions, curry leaves and pandan leaf in oil.
Add mustard seeds and green chillies.
Mash in tomato and season with turmeric powder, chillie powder and salt.
Pour a tablespoon of thick coconut milk, a cup of water and mix well making sure the potatoes are not over mashed and has a quiet medium sized piece here and there.
Cook for a few minutes until it boils and take off heat.

This potato Curry is ideal for chappati as well.
Use coconut powder if you cant find coconut cream or milk.
Always make sure you serve the gravy hot.
Try sandwiching the potato curry between two pooris.
Wrap it jn a banana leaf for an Indian look and is
image

So am really amazed at how hot oil can make the poori puff like papadams with no raising agents.
Cooking is an art and enjoy it with your own experience. You can never becomw an expert in cooking if you don’t know the basics.

mafaza

Leave a Reply

