Barley and broken wheat

Soup is considered as a comfort food and sometimes chicken soup is suggested as the best meal for fever patients. There are many varieties of soup and each has a different texture and different ingredients.  Basically most soups contain vegetables and meat or seafood.  I remember my grandma’s signature soup a cows leg soup with flavors of garlic and barley to thicken and vibrant spices. The soup was succulent and juicy with the marrow oozing out as you suck. I always loved it and my aunt has learnt from my grandma and nailed the soup perfectly exactly as my grandma.
I request her to make it for me when ever I go for lunch. I make the same soup but never attained the same flavor or taste yet my soup tasted good always.
I make it in my mums way. We generally add barley for thickening the soup. This week I decided to make goats leg soup for my grandma and prepared everything. As I started looking for barley I found out we had no barley at home. The only substitute ingredient that was available at home was broken wheat. I grabbed it and added a handful with confidence that my soup would taste good and the texture would be thick. As my grandma started having her soup she asked if I added barley and when I mentioned bromen wheat she was smiling at me and said “it doesn’t show any difference does it, I can’t believe you’ve added broken wheat instead of barley. There is no sign of a broken wheat”. She was so amazed at how well I’ve substituted barley with broken wheat.
My grandma’s smile made me happy and led me to a safe zone called deep thinking. I decided to search over the Internet for the health benefits or broken wheat and am now eager to discover more recipes using broken wheat.
The search results for broken wheat calories has surprised me. Broken wheat seems to have less carbs than rice and at the same time it seems to be an ideal comfort food ingredient for patients with cholesterol issues as broken wheat has 0 cholesterol.
image


image

 

Goats leg soup

Ingredients
4 goats leg
1/4 cup barley or broken wheat
1 tablespoon dhal
1 cup carrot sliced
1 cup cabbage shredded
2 leeks
2 cloves of garlic
1 medium potato
Salt to taste
1 teaspoon turmeric powder
1 teaspoon chillie powder
2 teaspoon pepper powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
1 tablespoon oil
1 tablespoon thick coconut milk
Water as required

Method

1. Clean and wash goats leg.
2. Add the goats leg, vegetables, potato, garlic, spices, salt and oil into a pot or pressure cooker.
3. Wash the dhal and barley or broken wheat and add over the vegetables.
4. Cover with sufficient water and pour the thick coconut milk.
5. Close and cook over a medium low heat until the flesh of the goats leg becomes soft and juicy. If cooking in a pressure cooker always make sure to check atleast half an hour before serving so that you’ve got time to chevk the meat and cook more.
Goats leg needs to be 99 percent cooked so that the marrow comes out soon as you tap it on a plate. The flesh needs to come off when you break with a spoon or fork. The better it’s cooked the easier it is to eat.

Leave a Reply

