A master of sugar craft – (passion and destiny)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/weekly-writing-challenge-golden-years/

I believe 20 is the best age a child can be trusted on to take a decision of their studies by themselves. I started on to dream of being a teacher at the age of 5 and began teaching my imaginary students after school and my siblings during our school vacation.
As I grew up to be an ordinary level student I began to think teaching school kids is not what I want and later on moved on to study computing.
At the age of 20 I was inspired by a television drama in hindi to be a journalist.  I started my first move with a scholarship request and was successfully selected.  Due to many problems at home I was unable to join the batch and had to do a diploma in cookery. Although I learnt the lessons with not much of interest I started practicing the recipes and became more involved due to the successful dishes and appreciation I received. Thats when my passion for food started yet I had the greed to get myself involved into the media due to my interest in getting famous.
Ofcourse I should agree that seeing my name next to an article is the only thing I most wanted in my early 20’s.

Experience is the best teacher

So the saying is very true. I herd someone mention on a radio programme that “not every human being does what they are most passionate about”
Some work to keep their family runnning.
While some do tbe job as they dont have any other options out of which only a very few are those lucky ones who do a job which they enjoy.
Same way it goes with students who are deciding on their higher education. 1-Some follow the marks,
2- some obey their parents and start pursuing a qualification to please their parents
3- while a few are indecisive and do what they feel like.
4- A very few are inspired by the celebrity and work hard to achieve their goals.
I fell into the 4th category. I was inspired and worked hard. I had a lifeline which was the age barrier for admission into journalism college was not above 25 years. So I spent my 21st birthday studying culinary arts. At age 22/23 I reapplied to journalism college and again my house condition restricted me from attending college. I decided to stay home with no studies for the next one year and spend my life enjoying my spinster-hood. I believed that a diploma or degree in journalism will make me become a published writer and succed in my ambition. It took which is why I assumed my last Chance to pursue a career as a writer was my 25th birthday and decided not to give up this last chance no matter what and thats when destiny entered my life.
I was arranged to be given in marriage and I gave up once and decided to be a normal housewife and take things as every normal girl would want and I totally forgot my ambition. Married life took over my ambitions and I started enjoying the migration. Travelling around dubai and experiencing the culture and food of dubai I was so involved in food related field for my surprise my husband was also totally enjoying my passion. We watched the same food channels and programmes. Thats when I started my blog as shoppaholicstraveldiary on WordPress and enjoyed posting everything about dubai and my life in dubai.
The days I started blogging is when I discovered that food and travel is my passion while I didn’t need a degree to get published. I learnt through experience that experience is what I needed to write while becoming a writer doesn’t mean I have to write for a paper. Its the wonderful experience that helped me discover my passion for food. As a foodie who likes taking food pictures I enjoy writing recipes and all things food while being addicted to cookbooks and food programmes.

Three Golden Years

The past three years mean so much to me that the three years helped me discover my passion.
The three years have bought out the foodie in me and encouraged me to become a published blogger.
The experience of the three years that passed has taught me something new thats none other than the art of sugar flower making. I mastered the sugar flower craft and has found a new art. Cake decorating has broadened my imagination and creativity. I am so excited to start creating and share the new found art with my readers and fans while keep on practicing the craft.

image
image

mafaza

11 thoughts on “A master of sugar craft – (passion and destiny)

Leave a Reply

