Good market for food

The good market as mentioned in the previous posts is an initiative to promote local goods. Starting off at the diyatha uyana at waters edge and the araliya car park at crescat the good market is now having their stalls at the race course car park. Race course is a nice place with a peaceful atmosphere located in the vicinity of the royal collage colombo and colombo university. A very posh area with less traffic and ideal location for walks and get togethers with family and friends race course has a line up of shops with a lovely car park and seating for those who like to have a McDonald’s lunch or dinner.
The good market is an addition that has made the location even more colorful with those lovely tents and music on the background,  the aroma of the food and colorful goods on display never failed to attract the crowd.
I dropped in at the good market on my way to a birthday party of my close cousin in law with a cake as gift.
walking in looking around at the good market I first went over to “milk and honey” its a shop that serves vegetarian food and had an array of gluten free cakes with kithul jaggery or kithul treacle substituted for sugar on all the sweet goodies. I am a budding baker who is looking for options on baking gluten free and healthy. When I first herd of the milk and honey shop in colombo 7 I was wanting to visit and try some from their menu yet time did not permit and I was so glad and eager to try their sweets at the good market.
I chose the chocolate fudge brownies which was 250 rupees a piece although it was less than 10 dirhams and filled with healthy ingredients I felt it to be a bit expensive counting in sri lankan rupees. I wanted to taste all the sweets they had which was covered and kept while all food was carefully packed with extra care and gloves.
All bags used were biodegradable.
image
image
image
As I tasted the chocolate fudge brownie I hardly felt any difference as the sales lady explained the brownies contain no wheat or rice flour which makes it gluten free and she also mentioned having used kithul jaggery intead of sugar as a healthy option. I am so happy to have spent 250 rupees on that brownie it was well worth.

My next search was for the achcharu kadeys new addition the kama kadey. Yes I’ve mentioned achcharu kadey on my previous post and they have developed to have two stalls together introducing the kama kadey which sells authentic sri lankan meals. They serve a special ambul thiyal sandwich with pol (coconut) sambol or polos thiyal with pol sambol. I sure need a good separate post to write about ambul thiyal.
In short – Its so delicious and yummy. Some kind of curry that can be prepared and preserved in a jar I sure will upload a post on this very soon.
Until then just have a look at my sandwich and imagine how ambul thiyals would be no matter if its fish or polos all taste good and spicy.
image
image
image
image
image
Yes thats how it looks the smell of kandan leaf and the roast bread is awesome.
The sandwich becomes more authentic because of the Kandan lead wrap.
Am so impressed by this food.
My reason to run over at good market was a big secret.
Memories are so great that sometimes we do things just to experience it, That’s what was my reason.
I remember my mum used to ask dad for boiled cashew nuts wraped in kandan leaves. It tasted so good and you hardly find it nowadays. About 15 years ago it was only 40 rupees I guess but now just a little bit is 250 rupees. I feel that 15 years is a very long time :-).
image
image
I text the kama kadey cum achcharu kadey to reserve me some boiled cashew nuts and I rushed over to get them before they are sold out.
Its served in the same old way with a very small quantity. Its was so soft and chewy. Its always best to taste something after many years. This is how I revisited my memory.
Everyone sure did enjoy the taste of good market food.
A birthday cake post is to follow and until then its good night from mafaza

mafaza

Leave a Reply

