My first cookery school recipe

When I was 17 my mum asked me to join a cookery school and learn to make special food and various cuisines, she also wanted me to go and learn sewing.  I had plans opposite to mu mum and always wanted to do computing and journalism to find work and earn money.
I decided to go ahead with my mums opinion and start learning cookery from a lady who conduct classes. At that time it was just 1000 rupees for 2 lessons with a share. I didn’t take a book to write down notes nor was I interested on what they taught.  It was rather like I was forced to attend. I completed 4 lessons of which 1 was a finger food lesson.
The cookery class teacher taught me how to cook chinese food and make short  crust pastry. Soon after completing the four lessons I stopped going and my mum gave up on me for a while and after three years my mum again started to remind me that I should take cookery lessons.
The reason behind this was my rice was salty while my curry was very spicy with extra chillie making the gravy unbearably hot.
I always tell my mum that practice makes perfect yet she says I need to learn before I practice.
So I started following a diploma in general cookery at mallika school of home science in colombo. Mrs mallika joseph was a very experienced cookery teacher and she taught me a freat deal of recipes which Iearnt with interest as I was so desperately wanting to show my mum I know how to cook good food.
mrs mallika joseph taught me my favourite éclair recipe and Swiss rolls.
She also did the flaky pastry and lumprice.
I enjoyed my lessons and also tried out many recipes with passion and enthusiasm.
I never tried my first cookery school recipe until I got married and had an ifthar party at my house in dubai. It was in the year 2011 in dubai my husband wanted to host an ifthar cum house warming party for his friends at our house in jumeira village circle.
I wanted to do something different and delicious. I remembered the chicken lollipops which my dad used to bring when we had a visitor or during tea occasionally. It was so delicious and technically a bit tough that my mum used to wonder how to learn the art of making those lovelies, during that time we were way too far from the Internet and had no knowledge of whats the internet. It was in the late 1999’s.
So having learnt how to make it and never tried it was a sad story but remembering that I have the recipe and is capable of following instructions was great.
I took it as a challenge and made those chicken lollipops. My very first attempt and I guess my hands were shivering that I almost dropped the bowl of chicken while trying to refrigerate on mixing up the marinating spice. There was double work, cleaning up the mess of marinate from the refrigerator was a huge task and thankfully the chicken wings did not fall.
I mixed the spices and sauces again and left the bowl in the fridge to marinate. The next day I started frying them carefully making sure not to break. Frying cuttlets is one of those tasks I find very messy and difficult while making chicken lollipops was double work.
Finally my chicken lollipops turned put perfectly well, crispy on the outside with no cracks. It tasted good as the ones my dad used to bring from the shop near out house in colombo.
I was just a good cook then, I never had any knowledge or idea of blogging. I hardly took pictures of the food I cooked.
Now three years later am a blogger who photographs every food I cook. It seems like am cooking to blog but the truth is not always I cook to blog but I cook to eat while in between I think of blogging about what I am cooking or eating.
The past few weeks I have decided to cook something I’ve never done in sri lanka and serve my family here in colombo which is why I decided to fry some chicken lollipops. In the meantime I took a few photographs of my chicken lollipops to share on my blog so that my flow readers can try this recipe at home.
It’s very easy to make chicken lollipops.

Cheesy Chicken Lollipops

Ingredients
10 chicken wings
2 medium potatoes
1 onion
2 green chillies
1 tablespoon oil
50 grams processed cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

For the coating
1 egg
2 cups of bread crumbs

Instructions of cooking

1. Boil potatoes
2. Chop onions and green chillies
3. Clean and wash chicken wings and cut the sides.
4. Cook the wings partly and scrape the flesh from one side and gather around the bottom part of the wings making sure the bottom is stable and won’t break.
5. Marinate the chicken wings in some sauce (BBQ sauce mixed with a bit of soya sauce)
6. Place 1 teaspoon of grated processed cheese in the centre of the chicken wings and gather the flesh around in one side.
7. Seal with potato mixture.
8. Dip in egg and bread crumbs.
9. Deep fry in hot oil.

Potato mixture
1. Peel potatoes.
2. Sauté onions with green chillies in 1 tablespoon oil
3. Mash in the potatoes and season with salt and pepper.

image

 

mafaza

Leave a Reply

