My First Dates Cake

My Dates Story

I love date cakes and who doesn’t,  dates are so rich in iron and are naturally sweet. During my third trimester of pregnancy I had gestational diabetes and had to cut down sugar intake completely. As a sweet lover it was difficult but as a food blogger it was fun. I gradually started enjoying the natural flavours of the food I ate while I started forgetting it was sugar free tea and coffee. You can experience the real taste of coffee and tea when there is less sugar but I was not a fan of muesli and had to have weetabix for breakfast.  As a person who has never tasted it I thought it must be like rusk and bought a large pack of weetabix. I was so disappointed by the taste of weetabix.  It was so bland and had no flavour at all so I had to add a few dates to my breakfast cereal.  Although worried of the natural sweetness in dates I had to eat for my baby.
We usually have dates in sri lanka when its ramazan or if someone brings from abroad.  But since moving to dubai I have been having it very often as  my husband likes to have a few dates with his weekend biriyani or rice and curry. Its delicious try it.
So dates is always available at home in dubai while its the same story back in sri lanka. My dad gets dates from friends while he also buys them, he too enjoys having a few dates every now and then. So I’ve always wanted to make some dates cake with the extras and last week I decided to finish off a pack of dates that was laying on the shelf for the past three months. My dad got a box from riyadh and we had more leftover after sharing.

I was browsing through my recipe books for a dates cake recipe and couldn’t find one specifically for dates cake. I decided to go through some rich fruit cake recipe and used the ingredients as an inspiration.
I’ve learnt a dates cake recipe at my cake decorating school during my basic course yet I decided to keep it for later and create my own recipe.

So here is how I made my first dates cake.
Ingredients
2 eggs
75 gm wheat flour
75 gm sugar
125 gm margarine
150 gm dates deseeded
A handful of mixed nuts I used almonds and cashew nuts.
4 pinches of baking powder

Instructions
1. Beat margarine and sugar.
2. Stir in eggs one at a time with the 4 pinches of baking powder.
3. Blend the dates and nuts to a coarse paste.
4. Stir in to the egg mixture.
5. Fold in the flour.
6. Butter and flour a baking pan and spread the batter.
7. Bake in a moderate oven according to normal baking timings.
8. Serve warm with a nice cup of tea or coffee.

I made a small 6 inch cake with the above ingredients double the quantity to increase size, if you dont like the nuts to be a bit chewy blend it into a fine paste.
Add flour little by little and if the mixture is too runny add a few tablespoons of flour to obtain the correct consistency.
The correct consistency is the normal cake batter but with a bit thickness due to the nuts and dates.
image
image
image

Healthy option for diabetes patients;
Substitute the sugar with 1/2 a cup kithul treacle or honey.
You can even use stevia extract, add just a table spoon instead of 75 grams.

mafaza

Leave a Reply

