Turkish food

It was a sunday while I rushed back home from my cake classes. The very last class it was supposed to be and am supposed to get my masters certificate in a week. Sundays are good market day at crescat boulevard araliya car park and I love the good market for its good food and stuff.
I decided to try turkish food on last Sundays good market for a change. Big borek was in my mind when I decided so, having come across the good market Facebook page and knowing that big borek has a kind of pate I’ve never tried I contacted them on whatsapp and asked to reserve 6 pieces for me.
How my conversation started is a funny sort of story.
I dint know much about turkish food except I knew how turkish delights look. I asked the person who sells at big borek the price of those pakoras and The reply was so kind yet informative. Those are turkish lentil pates sold as 2 for150 rupees.
I ordered 6 for me and my family.  My visit to the good market was to buy those lentil pates. I headed over to the big borek which stood amongst the many stalls with a nice spread of turkish food. The nice lady behind this turkish delight was a turkish lady herself and mentioned she was originally from Istanbul.

image

image
She had all her food nicely closed and served all with a care and cleanliness was so vital in her hands.
image
When I asked her why she named her stall big borek, she pointed over to her apron smiling while she explained that borek means those pate sort of food in turkey and she believes big is good and nice name so she called it big borek.
This nice lady from turkey bakes and cooks all that she sell by herself.
She also mentioned that she made feta  cheese at home and used it in the pastry that was available for sale. I was impressed and decided to buy a pastry to fill my hungry tummy which was empty with no breakfast due to a rush for  classes early in the morning with only a cup of tea.
The feta and spinach pastry was so tasty and crispy, I loved it and am inspired to try my own pastry recipe soon. Those pastries were called pogca I guess its turkish.

image

image

I also bought a rotti to accompany the lentil pate and some baklava which was also home made and looked good. My dad loved it so much.

image

image

Finally I went home with some nice turkish food and good few words from a nice turkish lady. I forgot to ask her name yet il go back to her stall soon for snack.
She mentioned she does it as a hobby and decided to bring turkish food for the sri lankans as turkish food is something you can not find in sri lanka. I totally agree with her she did save me a flight ticket to turkey by helping me blog about turkish food at the comfort of sri lanka (just kidding):D of course I wanna go visit turkey one day.
Until then let’s explore.
Its travel and foods pictures to follow-
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

It was indeed a colourful food tour with bog borek.
When your in sri lanka the next time and feel like going for turkish visit the good man stalls on sunday at crescat boulevard araliya car park, Saturdays at the race course colombo 7 nuga car park or the diyatha uyana at waters edge stalls on Thursday.
For more details head over to the good market facebook page.

So this week was a turkish weekend. Next week there will be something different from.the good market until then it’s bye from mafaza.
mafaza

Leave a Reply

