How a cookie became a short cake

Today was a very warm day to bake here in sri lanka. The rain was playing hide and seek as we expected it to rain anytime I decided to use up the kithul flour I bought from the good market last sunday.
I dint have any recipes in hand yet I decided to create my own. I love baking cookies although I’ve never tried my hands in a cookie recipe until this day.  I think its fun, creative and colorful so I decided to make it innovative and invent my own cookie recipe. I had only 100 grams of kithul flour in hand and I wanted my cookie to be low carb. Starting off with Margarine and sugar I got my batter ready and felt it was a bit too light to become a cookie. Yet I was so persuaded to make it into a cookie by arranging some cup cake liners on a flat 6 inch cake tray and pouring a small spoonful of batter in the centre to form a small circle.  I baked over medium high heat and checked it after 10 minutes to find it too soft as a sponge cake. Having no other option than to take it off the oven I tasted it to find no big difference to the flavour yet it required a little topping to call it a short cake. Finally making a topping was also fun as there was no chocolate to make a ganach nor any icing sugar to make some butter cream frosting so I decided to cream some condensed milk with a bit of cocoa powder and milk. It was thick and tasty. My chocolate short cakes were drizzled with a bit of my delicious condensed milk cream and served.
So I named this recipe kithul short Cakes.

Here is the recipe to my cakes

Ingredients
100 gms kithul flour
10 gms sugar or kithul treacle
10 gms margarine, butter or olive margarine
1 egg
1 teaspoon milk
2 teaspoon cocoa powder
3 cashew nuts
3 pinches baking powder

Instructions
1. Blend together butter, margarine or olive margarine with sugar and cashew nuts.
2. Add the egg and milk mixing well to combine.
3. Stir in baking powder, kithul flour and cocoa powder.

Divide 1 tablespoon of the batter into small cupcake liners and bake in a moderate oven for 10 minutes.
Serve with any desired type of frosting.

Options-
Butter cream
Melted chocolate
Ganach
Whipped cream
Or even drizzle a bit of honey or treacle for a diabetics friendly option.

Use kithul treacle,  honey or stevia extract for diabetes friendly cakes.
Avoid cashew nuts for gluten free option.
Replace eggs with low fat whipped cream for cholesterol free option. Quantity for 1 egg add 2 tablespoons of whipped cream low fat.

Lets talk about kithul.
Kithul is said to be a healthy option for diabetes patients.
I hear people say having kithul jaggery, kithul treacle,  or even kithul flour does not affect your diabetes. So I decided to go in depth and try some recipes for diabetes patients.

image

image

mafaza

Leave a Reply

