My pick at the good market colombo

Thursday good market at diyatha uyana water’s edge

Visiting the good market has become one of my favourites. Every time I go there I am amused and I find something new to try. Last thrusday was my 5th visit to the good market.
The good market is an initiative to promote local goods and handmade products. You can find organic vegetables and homemade chutneys. The hand made products range from toys to baskets and everything sri lankan. Have you ever wanted to get a souvenir for your friends and family abroad when you visit sri lanka I recommend you visit the good market before you buy.
They’ve got a good selection of souvenirs ranging from handmade handloom bags, soft toys, caps to carved sculptures and cane products like baskets, hats, plates and bowls made of wood and toys that can be treasured which are colorful and wooden.
They do have a good selection of pottery too. The good market also has a few stalls that sell for a cause and you can purchase from them so that you will be a part of the good help.

When you finished walking around and purchasing you can sit by the aquarium to relax and enjoy the food which you can buy at the stalls which sell all fresh, homemade stuff that some food stalls also have food made with organic ingredients.
There is a range of cuisines like mama Aidas middle eastern food to a few sti lankan food stalls that has a variety of sri lankan food to suit your appetite. The cakes and popsicles at the butter boutique is never to be missed whether you want dessert or not.
The kulfis at butter boutique are so devine with almonds and I should not forget to say that I tried both the kulfi and mint and lemon popsicle as I was so excited to try popsicle in cup shapes after many many years which I can not relate how many years. Its like I went back in time, when I was a kids I remember buying them from a house that sells these type of popsicle for 2 rupees. It was in negombo opposite my grannys house and we the cousin lot used to buy them. Am so delighted to find this yummy goodie after many years. It was a hit on last thrusdays good market for me.

I so enjoy the atmosphere at the waters edge diyatha uyana amidst the long distance travel from colombo 9 to battaramulla. Clicking some photographs for my bloggers I quickly went over to the yummy goodness stall where I was greeted by the nice lady behind the goodies. She makes the chutneys at home and has it neatly and colorfully packed to attract anyone who don’t like chutneys. Her stall was so cute and lovely. I just can’t take my eye off her nice chutney bottle to the small shelf which had four bottles and the long boat shaped tray that had a few fruits on display to explain the visitors what are the fruits used in those chutneys. She does have some good marmalades and jams too.
She quickly figured out I was the one who has been wanting to taste her chutneys for the last two weeks as I’ve text her asking for pricing and told to reserve me a billing and date chutney.
She insisted I try the others too and I wanted to buy a jambo jolly which is made from jambo fruits. Am so amazed at her ideas, she really has got something delicious in those jars. Those small fruits that we ate as achcharu with salt and chillie has now been turned into a chutney by this nice lady. Now we can enjoy them with our lunch or dinner. I recommend this as a good side dish for biriyani.
I sure have to try them all soon :-).

Returning back to the stall that had some sri lankan food yes thats something that need to be mentioned. She was a friendly lady who asked me to try some pickled pollos on display and I loved it. To be honest I’ve never seen or herd of pickled polos before until now. Pickled polos I mentioned, yes, thats something new to the market. Polos oh polos my favourite. I’ve had a sweet polos and we eat polos for lunch as polos curry but she had a variety of polos. Fried polos, polos ambul thiyal, polos mallum, pollos cuttlets, pollos pickle, wow she inspired me. now a vegetarian can enjoy a good meal too.
I should get some pickled polos from her on my next visit.
Okay now are you wondering what is this polos?
Its young jack fruit.
Its a vegetable thats made into a nice curry and served with rice. One of My aunts used to fry the young jack fruit and serve with syrup, she has a tree in from of her house and I remember making nice hats out of the leaves from a jack tree. Those are golden days. Nowadays you can find the young jack fruit dried into tiny slices in a pack which I discovered at the good market. The kithul vendor who sells all things kithul had this small pack for 100/- rupees per 10 grams. This stall is also available at the good market.
image

The vendor who goes as jafna palmyrah sells all things made of odiyal tree and I believe odiyal needs a separate post so lets talk about it another time.
Until then have a look at my pictures from Thursday 3rd April 2014 good market at diyatha uyana in battaramulla along waters edge.
Do check the good market website and learn more or find out the schedule,
location and timings incase you wanna visit. Always make sure to visit after checking their main website as time, location and days may vary depending on the situation.
The good market at crescat boulevard araliya car park is no longer available dues to lack of vendors willing to participate on sundays.
The race course good market will be open from april 26th. Its a nice place to shop too.

 

IMG_2934IMG_2942IMG_2947IMG_2949IMG_2952IMG_2954IMG_2961IMG_2959IMG_2966IMG_2972IMG_2973IMG_2977

image

image

image

image

image

The good market was a real treat for my eyes with the diyatha uyana good market being the largest with most number of stalls. I wish I got some wooden toys and some pottery and some handloom bags and some handloom soft toys too to decorate my sons cot.
More photos awaiting in line and see you soon.
This is my first time using a dslr camera 🙂
mafaza

Leave a Reply

