Claypot Shawarma

20140822_211751_Richtone(HDR)I have to admit that shawarmas have played a nice role in my life. In sri lanka you get the wraps which are very thicl and the filling is very spicy. My mum loves it and we often had it for dinner. In dubai the shawarmas are very thin with a mild filling that has a very nice texture as you take every bite. I recently read that shawarma is the meat filling and not the wrap. I know its a shame I dint know that before but trust me it takes time to explore the food as the world is too small yet each country has it own way of serving some things that makes the food world too big. It takes a lot of time when you try exploring various cuisines if you really want to know the originality. So it took me time to get married and move to dubai to know whats an original arabic shawarma like and yea even they have some differences yet they are all so delicious that am a shawarma fan.
So when i browsed the shelves at the supermarket And found that maggi has a shawarma mix I just grabbed it thinking and was thinking what to serve it with.
I then decided i will make a claypot shawarma as I love to cook on a clay pot.
It’s actually something like an experiment.

The recipe at the back of the pack called for fresh chopped tomatoes and yogurt which I didn’t have so I decided to substitute tomato paste instead of tomatoes and used the sweet apricot yogurt as I had no plain yogurt.

And yes the recipe ask for baking so i cooked it on the claypot making it a claypot shawarma recipe.
The aroma of tempering onions on the claypot was so nice that I was so excited.

I served this with some chapatti and sprinkled some pomegranates on top of the shawarma curry just to give it an arabian touch.

How I did the shawarma curry in my clay pot –
1. Cleaned, washed and drained boneless chicken beasts.
2. Add the shawarma mix, 100 grams tomato paste, 2 teaspoon apricot yogurt and mix the chicken wwell to coat.
3. Temper half an onion chopped in 3 teaspoon olive oil.
4. Add the chicken with the marination and leave closed for 5 minutes in a low heat.
5. Add 2 cups of water and cook until the chicken is tender.
6. You can choose how much gravy ypu need and turn off heat.
7. Serve hot with chappati.

The flavour was so good and delicious.

2 thoughts on “Claypot Shawarma

Leave a Reply

