In My Kitchen : part 1

I have been very bisy with practicals and experiments. This never stopped me from taking a few photographs and learning some food styling and photography. My phone memory reminded me that I’ve also got my very own memory full of words which need to be shared on my blog. So here i am typing while catching my one year old trying to pull every single item he sees at 11:30 pm.

My teddy bears

My teddy bears

Practical with parchment

Practical with parchment

Sri lankan traditional love cakes which i have fallen in love with.

Sri lankan traditional love cakes which i have fallen in love with.

Julia child has been one of my inspiration and to be precise it was a few months after i started blogging, I watched Julie and Julia.during which time i dint have an idea on which field i am.most interested on. This movie showed me the right path and enlightened my  blogging genre. This movie reminded me my passion for food, the love to experiment,  the anxiety to try new recipes which all came in to writing in the form of blogging.

Julia child has been one of my inspiration and to be precise it was a few months after i started blogging, I watched Julie and Julia.during which time i dint have an idea on which field i am.most interested on. This movie showed me the right path and enlightened my blogging genre. This movie reminded me my passion for food, the love to experiment, the anxiety to try new recipes which all came in to writing in the form of blogging.

Pouched Pear pie with a pizza dough  crust. A DIY cake stand yes i used up a barbican glass and a baklava tray to make this cake stand. It did look nice then and i need a proper stand soon :-)

Pouched Pear pie with a pizza dough crust.
A DIY cake stand yes i used up a barbican glass and a baklava tray to make this cake stand. It did look nice then and i need a proper stand soon šŸ™‚

Refer my pouched pear recipe to follow next on the blog. I can't say how much i love the looks on those fancy cakes with a dusting on top and i enjoyed doing this to my pie.

Refer my pouched pear recipe to follow next on the blog. I can’t say how much i love the looks on those fancy cakes with a dusting on top and i enjoyed doing this to my pie.

I wish i could find some time to detail this breakfast muffins But time doesn't permit. Let me quickly give the recipe. A cup of Slightly roasted semolina, 1 cup fresh milk, 2 eggs, 4 sausages meat, some green peas, 2 tablespoon cheese, a cup of water and salt and pepper to taste.all mixed together and baked on a microwave for 3 minutes.  Later 2 teaspoon water poured on top and baked for further 2 minutes. Add your own vegetables and sauces to enhance the flavour as this recipe is not spicy.

I wish i could find some time to detail this breakfast muffins But time doesn’t permit. Let me quickly give the recipe.
A cup of Slightly roasted semolina, 1 cup fresh milk, 2 eggs, 4 sausages meat, some green peas, 2 tablespoon cheese, a cup of water and salt and pepper to taste.all mixed together and baked on a microwave for 3 minutes. Later 2 teaspoon water poured on top and baked for further 2 minutes. Add your own vegetables and sauces to enhance the flavour as this recipe is not spicy.

Food styling practice how do you like it?

Food styling practice how do you like it?

Freekah porridge 1/2 a cup freekah 1/2 cup white raw rice 1 cup meat (chicken or mutton) 6 garlic cloves 1 stick cinnamon 2 teaspoon fennel seeds 2 cups of vegetables (carrots, leeks and anything you like) 1 tomato chopped 1 onion chopped 3 green chillies A handful of curry leaves Salt and pepper to taste 1 tablespoon tomatoe paste (optional) A pinch of turmeric 1/2 cup thick coconut milk Method Temper onions and curry leaves Add clean and washed meat  Stir in the freekah and raw rice with the fennel seeds and garlic In a minute add the vegetables Season with salt and pepper Pour some water and the coconut milk Add the cinnamon, tomato paste and turmeric Close and cook in a pressure cooker upto 4 or 5 whistles.

Freekah porridge
1/2 a cup freekah
1/2 cup white raw rice
1 cup meat (chicken or mutton)
6 garlic cloves
1 stick cinnamon
2 teaspoon fennel seeds
2 cups of vegetables (carrots, leeks and anything you like)
1 tomato chopped
1 onion chopped
3 green chillies
A handful of curry leaves
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon tomatoe paste (optional)
A pinch of turmeric
1/2 cup thick coconut milk
Method
Temper onions and curry leaves
Add clean and washed meat
Stir in the freekah and raw rice with the fennel seeds and garlic
In a minute add the vegetables
Season with salt and pepper
Pour some water and the coconut milk
Add the cinnamon, tomato paste and turmeric
Close and cook in a pressure cooker upto 4 or 5 whistles

Once the porridge is cooked blend a bit using a hand mixer and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

