Pickling and Preserving : In My Kitchen

BEWARE OF DROOLING 🙂

We are all droolers so that’s not a bad habit. I drool mostly when i see pickles and that is not due to any medical condition but because I grew up eating biling from my grandparents garden trees, they had mango and guava too. all we did was pickle or eat with salt and pepper. our pickling was instant and we only needed some salt, pepper and chillie powder. sometimes some sugar but it was not always. they had such a big garden and it was in negombo just 20 minutes away from colombo now on he highway. back then about 15 years ago we used to travel for 45 minutes and it was a fun ride which my dad never complained of driving that far.

2014-09-22 10.51.032014-09-22 16.36.29

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2014-09-23 18.33.06

so after a lunch get-together at home I had many cherry tomatoes and cucumber which I had no idea of how to stop them from rotting. so I searched online for pickling recipes and never was satisfied with any of them so I decided to go and search out fellow food blogger anitas blog maayeka. I saw her sun-dried tomatoes recipe and found it simple, easy and fun. I’ve never tried them before as usual and this was fun.

it took me only 3 days to get them on my dish. homemade and delicious. I dint wants them too dry so I took them off in three days and put them in olive a hidden reason, I was impatient to try it out.

day 2 marinated the tomatoes as mentioned on maayeka.com

2014-09-22 19.00.572014-09-22 16.37.372014-09-22 12.55.192014-09-22 12.55.04

so the cucumber I tried sundrying them too and sadly it dint work, so I decided to make my own brie liquid and pickle my cucumbers while try out a kimchi recipe from an online search, kimichi is a sort of pickle but stuffed with carrots.

i ate it after 2 days from the refrigerator and it was so good. i just loved it.

2014-09-22 17.25.002014-09-22 17.25.182014-09-22 18.51.02

the last thing I need to master is preserving or storing fresh herbs. every time I buy them they dry out before I use and yes I use after 3 days. so I decided to make a basil oil by blanching the basil leaves for 30 seconds in boiling water and drained as instructed in chef andy campbells recipe. then I added some olive oil and blended them together with a bit of salt and pepper seasoning. the leaves don’t smell good to me as mint and parsley yet the flavor is extraordinary. I served then all by making a bruschetta.

2014-09-25 20.31.592014-09-24 09.11.03

how to assemble this bruschetta layer the followings baguette sliced spread basil oil place grilled and flaked tuna, a few sun-dried tomatoes, a few mushrooms, a couple of pickled olives, a spoon of cheddar chopped, a few leaves of coriander or mint, drizzle with olive oil AND GRILL OVER A HOT GRIDDLE UNTIL CRISPY AT THE BOTTOM AND THE CHEESE HAS MELTED.

2014-09-25 09.06.44

DISCLAIMER ALL IMAGES USED ON THIS BLOG ARE ALL TAKEN BY MYSELF ON MY S4 MOBILE.

Leave a Reply

