Marzipan and Chocolate : A Match Made In My Kitchen

I know you read it as marzipan and chocolate a match made in heaven or maybe you guessed before reading the entire heading. I was clearing my pantry and sorting things out as it’s always a mess after a busy day of cooking and this time my pantry needed a good sort out as we were heading toward an eid weekend. A plan was already set for a fun get-together with my hubby’s friends and it was my chance to do something sweet and earn some compliments. Did I just type sweet !!! great I think my theme was all choconuts. I went wild using chocolate and nuts 80% in almost all the sweets. yes my brownies had chocolate and nuts while my cookies had the same but before they all were planned i decided to use up the almond powder which I purchased to make some macaroons and dint feel like making it.  as i was turning the pages of my favourite chocolate book I came across the chocolate marzipan’s recipe and jumped up saying ok let me try marzipan for the first time ever and maybe I will have a blog post at the end of the day. when I do something different in my kitchen it means am thinking of my blog yes this baby is a year old and two months younger to my son but every time I cook something special is when I feed her, I started this new blog address last September 20th a day before my birthday while I was running between my busy life of following a Wilton course and taking care of my 2 month old son but it’s been 2 or more years since I started blogging.

well getting back from memories.

yes I did browse the internet for a good marzipan recipe and finally settled on my very old first cake decorating book “100 celebration cakes” I’ve never tried any recipes from the book since I bought it 4 years ago and I’ve read about marzipan and seen them on the supermarket shelves but I’ve never tasted. somewhat the word marzipan sounded different and never made me feel like tasting. I remember we had a ginn reader in school which had a marzipan recipe but I guess the main reason why it dint click for me to try the recipe was the main ingredient. marzipan asked for almond powder and it was not a common ingredient in sri Lanka. only now there are few places that sell these fine almond powder and they are way too expensive. I told my dad last December when he went to Riyadh to get me almond powder and he bought chopped almonds. he also said, wow it’s expensive and am sure he has never seen almond powder. anyway this almond powder from lulu was nice to work with on a marzipan recipe. first time making marzipan’s was fun and when i tasted it I wondered why haven’t I tried this before, It was magical.

so I had 2 cups of marzipan with me and thought it would be great if I can make a few different sweets with marzipan and that when my favourite book “chocolate” came to the rescue. I flipped through the pages and saw this chocolate marzipan recipe and sticked to the basic instructions. I did also change it’s shape and  a core ingredient so that I can call it my own but still my recipe was inspired by the book.

the original chocolate marzipan recipe

the original chocolate marzipan recipe

so here are a few ways I played with marzipan and chocolate inspired by the above recipe.

1 choconut marzipans

how I did it ;

roll the marzipan on a work surface

cut out circles or any shaped using a cookie cutter on desired thickness

place on a tray and spread a teaspoon of chopped nuts on the center

melt bitter dark chocolate and pour on top of each marzipan to cover the nuts and coat them well

leave to set for 4 hours in room temperature or 2 hours in the fridge

2 Marzipan Fondue

how to make it;

cut the marzipan in the same was as choconut marzipan’s but a bit thicker so you can prick them onto candy sticks and place over a cake pop stand

melt a few squares of unsweetened dark chocolate with butter and mix some drinking chocolate powder

place these on your dessert table so guests can enjoy a nice marzipan fondue

Tips

MAKE DIFFERENT COLORS AND SHAPES FOR BIRTHDAYS

USE WHITE CHOCOLATE SLIGHTLY COLORED IN DIFFERENT COLORS FOR A MORE COLORFUL SWEET TREAT

TRY MELTING SOME MARSHMALLOWS AND POURING ON TOP OF THE CHOCONUT MARZIPAN IN PLACE OF DARK CHOCOLATE AND DECORATE WITH SPRINKLERS OR SMARTIES

20141006_1128552014-10-01 13.30.072014-10-01 13.09.09

2014-10-04 13.57.44

THE TWO COLORS OF MARZIPAN i MADE

THE TWO COLORS OF MARZIPAN i MADE

2014-10-04 13.57.4420141007_11503920141007_11545020141007_1150102014-10-01 17.51.56 20141006_112101 20141007_115425_Richtone(HDR)

SO HERE IS QUICK IMAGE TUTORIAL ON HOW TO MAKE YOUR OWN CAKE POP STAND

20141008_141820

A SPRAY CAN LID. A DOLLY, A RIBBON

USE A DRILL TO MAKE HOLES ON A OLD SPRAY CAN LID (USE A SHARP NAIL IF YOU DON'T HAVE A DRILL)

USE A DRILL TO MAKE HOLES ON A OLD SPRAY CAN LID (USE A SHARP NAIL IF YOU DON’T HAVE A DRILL)

CUT THE DOLLY INTO 2 AND WRAP AROUND THE SPRAY CAN LID AND TIE THE RIBBON

CUT THE DOLLY INTO 2 AND WRAP AROUND THE SPRAY CAN LID AND TIE THE RIBBON

20141008_142118

PLACE TOOTHPICKS ON THE HOLES

2014-09-25 09.06.44

20141008_142252

TO MAKE IT COLORFUL PLACE COLORED PAPER STRAWS CUT INTO 2 O TOP OF THE TOOTHPICKS

Leave a Reply

