Yeast free Bun : My Recipe

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Craving for srilankan malu paan is common in my life. Trust me if you try it one day you will want it everyday. It’s called malu paan in Sinhalese as malu is for fish and paan is for bun or bread in Sinhalese language.
1. I never follow a specific recipe to make this bun dough but I do make the filling very spicy to match the Sri Lankan taste. Unless am baking breads I hardly follow a recipe for buns and as always I am an experimental cook who likes trying new ways, ingredients and techniques.
I collected all the ingredients to make a bun and found that I have no yeast at home. I was wondering if I am going to be running to the supermarket to get some yeast or am I going to call the neighborhood grocery and get it delivered. Either way I am not going to cancel the baking of buns was for sure and then I decided why not let’s make my own recipe. The recipes I create are all that comes to my head and I do not copy any specific method or ingredients from any site.
Mafaza’s bun Recipe
Ingredients
• 4 cups flour
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1 teaspoon sugar
• 1 tablespoon olive oil
• 1 egg white (leave the yolk to brush on top)
•5 grams of cream of tar tar
• 5 grams baking soda
• water to knead as required
Method
1. add the flour, salt, cream of tar tar, baking soda, sugar into bowl and mix
2. break in the egg white and pour the olive oil, mix them well
3. knead it to a soft and smooth dough by adding water little by little
4. cover and leave at room temperature for an hour
5. roll on a worktop and make the buns
To make fish buns Sri Lankan malu paan cut small circles and place a tablespoon of potato filling on the center
Fold the sides to form a triangle and tighten together by pinching the edges together
You can made any type of buns using this dough
I made some cinnamon rolls with the leftovers and it was yummy
To make cinnamon rolls just flatten the dough on the work top and make a roll
Cut into desired sizes and bake with a bit of egg wash on top
Always brush the top of your buns with egg yolk to get a color
To make potato curry
1. boil a large potato and break it to pieces using your fingers
2. chop and temper a large onion
3. add some curry leaves and mustard seed
4. add the potatoes and season with salt, turmeric and crushed pepper corns
5. give it a good mix so that the ingredients are incorporated together
6. pour a tablespoon of thick coconut milk
7. let it cook for a minute and turn off heat

My quick cinnamon cream
• 1 cup fresh cream
• 2 teaspoon cinnamon powder
• 2 teaspoon sugar
1. mix well and heat in a microwave for a minute
2. pour on top of the baked cinnamon rolls and cook in the microwave for 2 minutes
3. Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

