The Small Bakery at the Other end of my block

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have recently started using public transport to go around for my blogging events and find it very easy to get around in Dubai. The bus and train schedules are easily accessible from the RTA by calling and that’s the best way to plan any journey in Dubai and yea the Google maps also seem to be very accurate. Earlier i never went out for blogging it was always things in my kitchen or things I ran into while i did my grocery shopping that has been on the blog so far or the few restaurants and places i visited in Sri Lanka with my family. Although running around in buses and trains with a stroller and boy who is one and half is a bit tough I take it as a challenge. Sometimes it’s very stressful and I don’t take all events or activities just a few that are very informative or knowledgeable is what I look for when planning to attend events. The first event I wanted to attend was the just falafel but I couldn’t get a proper map so sadly I couldn’t attend the event. That’s when I decided I will be a recipe writer and tester. That’s when my blog found the new name “the recipe writer”. I have plans to make it a self hosted domain soon as I get a paid blogging job.
So getting back to my topic, recently I met two ladies from a company for an interview and had a good chat and that’s when I felt that they were surprised to know international city had a Carrefour. Of course international city has its own Carrefour and lulu express. They did have a spinney’s too and now it’s closed. This international city in Dubai is really a city as it’s surrounded with different sorts of restaurants and cafes and they keep growing day by day. One such restaurant I really like from the outside is the hush café which looks a bit posh. I have never tried it though. Carrefour is at the other end of international city from my block and it’s a 1500 foot steps which I counted the last time I went to get some bananas and check for a magazine. On the way I was so interested in checking out this tiny bakery which had a large amount of dough ready to become a rotti. Every time I walk for the bus I see the shop workers getting ready to roll that dough and grill them in this beautiful oven. The place is filled with the aroma of grilling rotti. These rottis are so large and soft while they are different from the Arabic rotti or the shawarma rotti. Shawarma rottis are a little hard while these rottis are soft in texture. Shawarma rottis have chances of getting harder when refrigerated or reheated and these rottis don’t. This rotti is the Pakistani rotti. They both taste good Sharma rottis are delicious when wrapped in shawarma meat while these Pakistani rottis go well with a chicken kurma or mutton keema. This world has a variety of rottis and they all taste unique in there own way. I decided to buy a rotti and try it which was only 1 dirham and the shop keeper asked me how many rottis I need, I said 1 and he was like 1? Yea they are cheap but it was for trying purpose and we hardly eat carbs on weekdays so I just got one rotti. It tasted good with my dhal and Sri Lankan chillie paste as I dint have any kurma or spicy chicken gravy in my fridge.
Finally I have discovered the difference between two large rottis which are both my favorites.
now am so tired of walking that far and writing this far.

so the quest for a Pakistani rotti has ended here.

 

Leave a Reply

