Beef Cakes

being a recipe writer is a very tough job, we need to test recipes and make sure it’s perfect so that I can share with everyone. this is when buying a cookbook becomes safe as you hardly can say which recipe will turn out perfect. another responsibility comes to me as my blog carries the title “the recipe writer”, i am  responsible to post a few of my own recipes and ofcourse my inspiration is the internet but they are only inspirations not my source. my source is my experience and instincts. I have seen and heard people talk about fish cakes made of semolina. i also heard people say they make it with beef and semolina as well. I don’ t have a recipe but the way they spoke I understood the basic ingredients and techniques used to make a beef cake. that comes from experience in my kitchen back in sri lanka and dubai.

so i decided to make a simple and easy one pan breakfast for the weekend to prevent those extra washing load.  the basic ingredients were beef, onion and semolina. why i prefered semolina was due to it’s low carbohydrate levels. the other supporting ingredients were egg, milk and salt and pepper. surprisingly it turned out perfect and was soft. i baked at 180 degrees for 16 minutes and served warm with ketchup. my next step was to take it one step ahead and make a healthy version, to make it healthy i decided to use instant oats rather than semolina. oats were on my shelf lying for months and hardly i use them and now i started using oats for cookies and beef cakes. my next step will be soon revealed.

beef cake recipe

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 onion chopped

lets bake the beefcake;  

  1. blend all the ingredients together.
  2. pour on a baking tray
  3. bake at 180 degrees for 16 minutes
  4. cut into triangles and serve warm with ketchup, mayonnaise or mash potatoes

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

PS ; THIS IS MY VERY OWN RECIPE AND NO PART HAS BEEN COPIED OR REPRODUCED SO PLEASE TO POST OR REPRODUCE THIS ON ANY FORM REQUIRES MY PERMISSION AND THE PHOTOGRAPHS USED ARE MY VERY OWN. PLEASE ASK BEFORE USING ANY ARTICLE ON THIS BLOG.

THANK YOU

THE RECIPE WRITER

MAFAZA HALEEM

Leave a Reply

