My Trip to Galle

It’s a shame to say that I’ve never been to the Galle fort until my last vacation. I had been to Galle once when i was a kid and never got off the van as my dad went for a wedding and we were supposed to stay in the vehicle which was parked near the beach. my second trip was to Galle in 2013 to collect some goods from trico. I was preggy and we had to just get the stuff cleared and return home.

before I tied the knot I always tried to apply for the Galle literary festival and become a volunteer so that i can visit Galle and have some fun looking around. the media never stops driving my thoughts towards Galle whenever its the Galle literary festival season. due to my family restrictions that we girls are not sent anywhere alone and dad had office which stopped me from being a volunteer. my dreams were shattered but there was hope.

last January I was on vacation in Sri Lanka and we were in beruwela after a waleema . we all had some free time and someone suggested we go to Galle for an evening. i was overwhelmed with joy that finally my dream is gonna come true. we set off at 4 from home and it was a 45 minutes drive from beruwela through a shortcut which led to the southern highway. from the highway it only took 25 minutes but the 45 minute was for some fuel, snacks and following of relatives.

it was 6 pm when we reached Galle. the sun was setting and the birds were getting home while we drove towards Galle fort through the busy Galle town recollecting and discussing the tsunami in 2004. 10 years and the Galle fort welcomed us with the beautiful lighthouse view and streets decorated with tiny lights for some celebration on the mosques.

we headed towards the lighthouse and sat nearby for a small picnic.the moon was shining bright while the lighthouse stood there giggling at the nature trying to compete who is the brightest of them all, sure is the moon.

we had achcharu and some monis biscuits and small cake sort of thing which is actually called bibikkam in Sri Lanka and I’ve only heard it but it was my first tasting and it was super yummy.

soon after the snacking at around 8 we started of by foot with footwear looking around the Galle fort. every step was mesmerizing. as I walked around taking a few pictures making sure none of my relatives saw me so that they don’t tease me saying “okay, you gonna blog”. the entire area had the Portuguese architecture and I  felt like I was in another world. trust me every step I walked around made me think of staying longer and why haven’t I come here before and why dint we come early.

the boutique style shops, restaurants and hotels all with beautiful interior and exterior the walk around Galle fort was an unforgettable memory. it was my best short trip in Sri Lanka.

you gotta see it to believe it.

if you go on a vacation to Sri Lanka don’t forget to add Galle in your list even for a short visit like I did.

we ended our walk with the ice cream parlor which served some good quantity ice cream and then we headed home.

I missed peddlers in cafe and many more places due to the late visit, lack of time and sudden plan please don’t miss it if you go.

 

Leave a Reply

