Cook the Net : In My Kitchen

I have stopped creating my own revipes for a while and started following recipes from online source. I believe this will help me get some inspiration to create new recipes in the future.

My first attempt was baking a pie. Paul Hollywood’s puds and pies on fatafeat channel makes my husband call me and ask to watch how to make a pie. Lol I’ve made pies but not like paul Hollywood so i decided to fulfil my husbands cravings for paul Hollywood’s pies and started of browsing the Internet for a good recipe.

Internet has become a very good source for recipes nowadays but its very difficult to trust and start making something unless you know for sure that it will work fine. Having watched paul Hollywood’s show trying his recipe out was not that tough same was with mnay other sites and recipes which will follow in this post.

It was just a wedge of my pie which was 8 × 6 in round. I filled it up with minced meat, liver and some vegetables. It went off fast as i made it on a weekend for lunch and i could only take a picture of my share which was bot ready for any photo shoots but to be devoured by me.

It was just a wedge of my pie which was 8 × 6 in round. I filled it up with minced meat, liver and some vegetables. It went off fast as i made it on a weekend for lunch and i could only take a picture of my share which was bot ready for any photo shoots but to be devoured by me.

Finally accomplished pie making like paul Hollywood and the next step was to get a mousse done to set fast. I searched online and there were many recipes which all called for eggs and many other ingredients. I hated the idea of beating eggs for long especially g mousse was nit my thing. I’ve tried it once and it didn’t set so i stopped attempting it again. But 3 weeks ago my uncle from qatar was paying us a sudden visit and we called it a dinner, so i had my signature string hoppers buriyani menu ready but i need a dessert which will set by 7 pm And it was 11:30 am in the morning while i was still browsing for a quick and easy recipe. Finally i gave up and searched for nigella lawsons quick set mousse and voila it was there with no eggs and little beating of whipped cream whoch was not bad.  I was ready with my dessert in 15 minutes and it set in an hour.  I really loved the recipe and i will recommend anyone who is short of time to try it out for a quick dunner or a sudden guest. It chocolate and marshmallow based and it was devine.

Thats my mousse made following nigella lawsons recipe

Thats my mousse made following nigella lawsons recipe

I guess i already mentioned making panacotta following an online recipe from all recipes.com and i am in love with the recipe. It was super easy, easier than making mousse no beating, no whisking just heating and setting. Nowadays if i think of dessert making pana cotta is what comes to my mind first. I tried it after being inspired by Lorraine pascals show on television and followed allrecipes.com but i substituted greek yogurt with fullfat yogurt and double cream with thick cream it worked fine and set in 4 hours. While the top jelly layer set in an hour.

That was my pana cotta

That was my pana cotta. Isn’t that a beauty.  The lovely creamy and cheesy texture with a tint of red jelly gives it a very elegant look and it tasted devine.

My next attemp was pepepr rasam. Yes in sri lankan we call it milagu thanni and i have seen my aunt make it but never got to ask the recipe.  I was craving for this pepper rasam for a long time. When you go to a sri lankam restaurant and buy a pack of rice and curry you get a small bag of gravy and pepepr rasam too. It goes well with the rice and tastes delicious.  We drink the balance from the plate and crave for more. So i finally founf the recipe from vanchef.com and tried it. Trying the recipe out was by itself an art i should say. The ingredients that went it and the proxess taken to make it was really enjoyable. Nevertheless i thought that I’d enhoy grinding my spices using a mortar and pestal bor did i even think that I’d enjoy roasting my spices on a pan.  The house smelled good and the pot of rasam was so aromatic with the spices, herbs the flavor of the tamarind and the aroma of the ginger garlic paste. I have bo words to describe it in one word. I made 2 litres of this rasam and ats it with my rice till i got bored but did i get bored is a question.  No i never got bored of it but i stopped making again. I froze some and used it up for like 2 weeks and it tasted good as fresh.

20150127_175609 20150128_122233

2 thoughts on “Cook the Net : In My Kitchen

  1. Since it tried and tested.. I’d love it if you could share with me the links to where you found the quick set choc mousse and panna cotta recipes… it would be best if you cank hyperlink the original sources of your best recommended recipes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

