In My Kitchen : A photo story

For a long time I've wanted to make something in pastel colors and i tried a cheesecake which did not look very pretty long time ago. This month i decided to make some popsicles in pastel color and searched for many recipes.  All had some condensed milk or too much sugar so i decided to cut down the sugar and make it low in sugar with saffron as a flavour. I guess saffron was not sufficient enough i didn't get the flavour and it was very balnd amidst it's cute colorful looks. So check out my next photo on what i did with these cute popsicles.

For a long time I’ve wanted to make something in pastel colors and i tried a cheesecake which did not look very pretty long time ago. This month i decided to make some popsicles in pastel color and searched for many recipes. All had some condensed milk or too much sugar so i decided to cut down the sugar and make it low in sugar with saffron as a flavour. I guess saffron was not sufficient enough i didn’t get the flavour and it was very balnd amidst it’s cute colorful looks.
So check out my next photo on what i did with these cute popsicles. Yes experimenting is not an easy task as things can go wrong but still i ended up with an edible item 🙂

I popped the popsicle in a glass and poured some rose sherbet syrup and half a cup water and let it stand on my pantry for an hour. So my sherbet was ready it was sweet and delicious.

I popped the popsicle in a glass and poured some rose sherbet syrup and half a cup water and let it stand on my pantry for an hour. So my sherbet was ready it was sweet and delicious.

If you own many cookery books you must try some recipes out of them occasionally or else your parents or hubby might not spend on buying you those cute lovely recipe books to feed your eyes. So here is a chocolate tart i tried from my favourite recipe book "chocolate". It was super delicious and rated A by my food critic. Ok i guess i mentioned A rated because he wanted me to serve it for my guests which we expected after a few days.

If you own many cookery books you must try some recipes out of them occasionally or else your parents or hubby might not spend on buying you those cute lovely recipe books to feed your eyes. So here is a chocolate tart i tried from my favourite recipe book “chocolate”.
It was super delicious and rated A by my food critic. Ok i guess i mentioned A rated because he wanted me to serve it for my guests which we expected after a few days. I served this chocolate tart along with a good salted caramel sauce made at home following jamie olivers recipe. Trust me it was super easy and delicious.  It worked out very well.

We were expecting sri lankans who were visitng dubai for the first time and serving arabic food was our plan. So the western chocolate tart seemed not like a match which is why i decided to make some umali or om ali

We were expecting sri lankans who were visitng dubai for the first time and serving arabic food was our plan. So the western chocolate tart seemed not like a match which is why i decided to make some umali or om ali. It was my first attempt and everything worked fine until the time came to add some sugar. Now you are gonna learn something from me and that’s never even dump the sugar straight from the bag no matter how much experience you have. As i accidentally dumped 2 cups of sugar for a recipe that needed 1/2 a cup just because i thought i will have control which i suddenly lost. So i tried my best to scoop out as much sugar as possible and finally completed making my um ali or om ali. The recipe turned out perfect and was from allrecipes.com. i liked it though it was a bit sweet but was fine the next day. My husband tasted it and said it was like iver sugared muesli.  Trust me he is over fed qith muesli and that’s the only reason apart from it being a bit too sweet.

The marshmallow story

I have joined a group on facebook where housewives post images and recipes.  They share good recipes. And suddenly my wall was filling up with images of marshmallow. Colorful and soft looking goodies never make me fed up. I have a bad experience in trying out recipe without any quantity from the marshmallow girls uk. It was a video and they dint have any proper measurements but i decided to try and failed. My ingredients got wasted especially my precious liquid glucose. Now i didn’t want to try any recipe thats calls for liquid glucose apart from my icing and luckily the recipes the facebook group had was without liquid glucose. Now i was a bit worried and scared to try as most recipes online call for liquid glucose. But since my sister also tried it and it worked out i went ahead and started making at 10:30 pm on a weekend night. In 3 hours i was satisfied with the outcome.  I didn’t sleep until i cut it and had confirmed it’s marshmallows.  Recipe is treasured.  I kept it in a jar on my pantry for 5 days and it tasted just fine. My son (1yr and 9months) loved it and so did his dad.

The coloring was done as a painting and after 3 days i popped them on paper straws and the stood there perfectly.

Finally happy with a homemade marshmallow.

20150410_224913_Richtone(HDR) 20150411_100436_Richtone(HDR) 20150413_100531

2 thoughts on “In My Kitchen : A photo story

Leave a Reply

