In My Kitchen; A Photo Story

20150311_115742_Richtone(HDR)

My mum used to make short crust pastry with a prawn filling it was super tasty. There was a time when she was restricted from eating fried stuff due to some health issues and she used to bake some good tasty short crust pastries and pizzas for breaking fast during ramadan. I am drooling over those memories. I was craving for her style pastries and decided to bake some. The recipe i used was what i learnt at my cookery school but it was exactly the same taste. I used to cook from my cookery school recipe book long time ago but ever since i moved to dubai i stopped it cos at the beginning baking and cooking using a microwave was new to me and i didn’t know how to adjust which made my recipes a failure but now that am an expert in microwave cooking i just gave it a try and voila it worked. These mini pastries were made with a fish filling.

I tried lassi 2 years ago in sri lanka for the first time and it was late at night. I was on my first pregnancy and my dad got me the lassi. Suddenly he had a fear if it's okay to drink lassi late at 9 pm so he asked me stop drinking it. I enjoyed the little i drank and i enjoyed my dad concerns so i stopped drinking it. Ever since I've not got the chance to try it again. Last week i had a lot of yogurt which was expiring the next day and the best recipe to use it up was lassi i thought and searched online for some lassi recipes. I immediately started making it following food networks recipe and it turned out perfect same as what i tasted 2 years ago. Now am a fan of homemade lassi and buy yogurt to make lassi :-).

I tried lassi 2 years ago in sri lanka for the first time and it was late at night. I was on my first pregnancy and my dad got me the lassi. Suddenly he had a fear if it’s okay to drink lassi late at 9 pm so he asked me stop drinking it. I enjoyed the little i drank and i enjoyed my dad concerns so i stopped drinking it. Ever since I’ve not got the chance to try it again. Last week i had a lot of yogurt which was expiring the next day and the best recipe to use it up was lassi i thought and searched online for some lassi recipes. I immediately started making it following food networks recipe and it turned out perfect same as what i tasted 2 years ago. Now am a fan of homemade lassi and buy yogurt to make lassi ­čÖé

my gran used to make these jewels on thursdays and it as her special dish, no one knew to make it her  way. it was called pillows but to explain in english its  like hollandaise

my gran used to make these jewels on thursdays and it as her special dish, no one knew to make it her way. it was called pillows but to explain in english its like hollandaise pancakes but made with bananas. served with kithul treacle totally srilankan. i couldn’t ask her for the recipe and as she is no more in this world i’ve kept experimenting many ┬átimes and finally got it right. it is basically a batter of flour, sugar, eggs, salt and bananas mixed with some milk and deep fried. it is served with a drizzle of kithul treacle.

pol rotti and katta sambol are always reminded by a true srilankan food lover who can resist the devine crispiness of the pol rotti with the spiciness of katta sambol. i make them in bulk to freeze for a week and happily they go off in a couple of days.

pol rotti and katta sambol are always reminded by a true srilankan food lover who can resist the devine crispiness of the pol rotti with the spiciness of katta sambol. i make them in bulk to freeze for a week and happily they go off in a couple of days. they are a good snack  to freeze

times

One thought on “In My Kitchen; A Photo Story

Leave a Reply

