June : My Kitchen flashbacks

June was a very happening month and a very unforgettable one. Ever since i started learning the art of cake decorating in 2013 I have been wondering if the effort and money i invested to study the art be really worth it. Finally june 2015 taught me that it’s all worth it.  I dreamt of always being a writer and it was in 2012 that i found my passion for food blogging and that’s what i have been doing ever since. But decorating cakes and cookies is an art i learnt which i treasure as hobby. Food blogging is my passion and my profession. Overall both decorating and food blogging are like my 2 hands which are both important.

I sure will balance them both amidst my busy personal life in sha allah. So to keep things going and in track i decided to follow one of my fellow blogger sally from “my custard pies” ideas and make my posts monthly based with a lot of photo stories and on and off some rich recipes. Although i didn’t blog my phone has never stopped clicking and it’s filled with loads of food images.

Let me begin with a quick photostory for the month of june.

In May 2015 i started my facebook page and decided i will do cookies, cake pops and tiny cakes only as i dont own a large oven to do big size cakes. So getting one order was my only aim and creating a portfolio was my goal. Getting an order seemed a bit impossible as i had no friends in dubai nor much contact except my food blogger community.   I started creating cookies in various simple designs and taking pictures.

Here are a few samples

IMG_20150518_124107

 

I made them and ate them 🙂

My first order was really lovely. 2 and a half dozens of American flag cookies for a nursery. Really loved working on it.

My first order was really lovely. 2 and a half dozens of American flag cookies for a nursery. Really loved working on it.

My second order was a lot of baby shower cookies.  Each and every cookiea was especially handcrafted and designed.

My second order was a lot of baby shower cookies. Each and every cookiea was especially handcrafted and designed.

Had these juicy rambutans after a year and a half.  My find at the union coop. It's a good place to shop for fruits and vegetables.  They have the fresh ones for the best price.

Had these juicy rambutans after a year and a half. My find at the union coop. It’s a good place to shop for fruits and vegetables. They have the fresh ones for the best price.

I am a crazy gulab jamun lover and previously attempted making them thrice and failed. So i gave up making them but never gave up eating them. Finally after many years i decided to go ahead and try makimg gulab jamuns from scratch for the very last time.  Oh my these were so yummy that i ate 5 or more a day. Sometimes even my breakfast was with gulab jamuns.  Don't trust me with gulab jamuns i will never save a piece :-)

I am a crazy gulab jamun lover and previously attempted making them thrice and failed. So i gave up making them but never gave up eating them. Finally after many years i decided to go ahead and try makimg gulab jamuns from scratch for the very last time. Oh my these were so yummy that i ate 5 or more a day. Sometimes even my breakfast was with gulab jamuns. Don’t trust me with gulab jamuns i will never save a piece 🙂

In sri lanka we used to buy a thing small bread which we call roast paan menaing roast bread, its hard and crispy in the outside but yummy.  We usually have it with a cup of plain black tea. Its goes very well with it. It's like rusks but a bit soft on the centre.  At times my dad used to get them from a shop for breakfast with a yummy milky gravy which was spicy with pepper corns and a good shiny potato devil that was hot a fiery. We dip the bread in gravy and dab a bot of the potato devil and enjoy it with all sorts of noise around the dinning table. Although it was spicy and even if we get tears we sri lankans cannot stop eating spicy food. That's what is more special about us i guess. I remembered those golden days and decided to make the ggravy and potato devil at home. The baguette served some justice and played the part of sri lankan roast paans. It was super awesome.  I wil post the recipe if you like some spicy food. Very soon.

In sri lanka we used to buy a thing small bread which we call roast paan menaing roast bread, its hard and crispy in the outside but yummy. We usually have it with a cup of plain black tea. Its goes very well with it. It’s like rusks but a bit soft on the centre. At times my dad used to get them from a shop for breakfast with a yummy milky gravy which was spicy with pepper corns and a good shiny potato devil that was hot a fiery.
We dip the bread in gravy and dab a bot of the potato devil and enjoy it with all sorts of noise around the dinning table. Although it was spicy and even if we get tears we sri lankans cannot stop eating spicy food. That’s what is more special about us i guess.
I remembered those golden days and decided to make the ggravy and potato devil at home. The baguette served some justice and played the part of sri lankan roast paans. It was super awesome. I wil post the recipe if you like some spicy food. Very soon.

My grandmas special semolina porridge with crispy fried rottis. Finally i made it like grandma and served like grandma. She used to send them to us in a small bag anf the porridge would come in a glass jar of either horlicks, viva or jams :-) it was fun and her style of sharing with us.

My grandmas special semolina porridge with crispy fried rottis. Finally i made it like grandma and served like grandma. She used to send them to us in a small bag anf the porridge would come in a glass jar of either horlicks, viva or jams 🙂 it was fun and her style of sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

