What’s Cooking in my Sri Lankan kitchen

Hi
This vacation in sri lanka has kept me very busy that I hardly found any time to write a word or two even on instaģram.
My sister got married and i delivered a new baby. Work has multiplied and so has the responsibility.
I did do a few cooking and baking but i couldn’t do as i planned before coming to sri lanka. I was thinking of cooking a few dishes a week and blogging but there seem to be more other work which needed priority than cooking.
The few little work i did for my passion are in pictures.
Soon i will be sharing some recipes till then hope these food stories will keep you all focused.

20150724_213539_Richtone(HDR)

The dinner table on my sisters mehendi day. Those drink bottles which you see with straws are really fun to sip on and you get them only in sri lanka on those small grocery stores. I just can drink a couple of them in just an hour.they taste soo good.

20150718_114014

The traditional eid breakfast in sri lanka is mostly either string hoppers or pittu with a choice if curry and gravy and we normally make a sweet sago porridge which can be drunken by itself or eaten by mixing with pittu or string hoppers. It’s sweetened with jaggery and best to use is kithul jaggery

 

20150718_115639_Richtone(HDR)

I carried a pack of baklava pastry all the way from dubai to sri lanka to try my hands on making this delicious arabian sweet which i really love after the indian sweets more than chocolates. I never believed that I’d nail the recipe. Iwas so happy to see the baklava turn out to perfection. So i have perfectioned the art of making baklava 🙂

 

20150718_231831_Richtone(HDR)

The macaroons keep giving me a hard time always. The first time i tried making macaroons i used crushed almonds to make a powder and the powder was not fine enough or the consistency of the batter was not right so i failed the first attempt. The second time i made thrice in a day to get them layered on my V8 cake following adriano zumbos recipe. The third time is in the picture. The Batter was too thick that it was a bit like undercooked. Now I gotta try ine more time very soon. Till then this macaroons are way better than my first try.

20150724_213510_Richtone(HDR)

I am not a dessert maker but i know what goes well together. Got some shot glasses from dubai and filled it with chocolate mousse and cream.  They did taste good. Am surprised that making desserts are not a big deal

I am not a dessert maker but i know what goes well together. Got some shot glasses from dubai and filled it with chocolate mousse and cream. They did taste good. Am surprised that making desserts are not a big deal

One other drink i like to enjoy in sri lanka is drink a thambili (king coconut) by a straw. It's so cool to have a thambili while travelling.

One other drink i like to enjoy in sri lanka is drink a thambili (king coconut) by a straw.
It’s so cool to have a thambili while travelling.

2 thoughts on “What’s Cooking in my Sri Lankan kitchen

Leave a Reply

