The Stranger

 

Chance Encounter

The moment I learnt I’ve won a voucher from tavola I could hardly think. I decided to get hold of it as soon as I could because I love shopping at tavola.

Now the day arrived for me to collect my voucher. It was the day just before I  had plans to visit colombo on a short notice.

I was ready and driven off to the oasis centre where we had to wait till S had some chores done.

I had R and A so was moving around and doing a bit of shopping.

First stop was a donut kiosk and then the tea.

Soon as we were done there we shopped at daiso where I got myself some craft supplies and a baking pan.

It seemed like the tinniest baking pan, yet it was something I’ve been hunting for a long time. Later we drove to grosvenor tower to collect my voucher.

The receptionist at the desk was a bit elderly, tall lady with golden short hair. She was busy over the phone with papers pilled on her desk with pen in the right hand. She gave me a smile and look through her specs as if asking for a moment. As soon as she hung the phone up I asked for ashara. She took my name and the purpose and passed on over the phone.

I was given many smiles by the few staffs who passed by 1 lady was in a tight jeans and a black stripped tshirt and denim jacket  on top. She was around 4.8 and  a bit chubby with brownish golden hair which am sure is highlighted. The others were a bit too taller than myself and thin with long blond hair. There were 2 other male staff who passed by too.

I was waiting for around 15 minutes or more I guess and suddenly a man walked over.

He gave a quick glance at the receptionist.

What is it? Which company are you from? He began.

I introduced myself and told my purpose.

He seemed lost.

My heart started beating fast.

Am I in the right place?

Oh, have they forgotten they asked me to come?

Thousands of thoughts rummaged my heart.

Suddenly I took my email and showed him.

Ashara! He exclaimed in relief.

Sorry, I am ashraf, ashara is inside.

He broke off at the receptionist. She is looking for ashafa not ashraf.

The receptionist blamed me saying I asked for ashraf while she sure did repeat after me the name ashara.

Sometimes people do say lies or are so ignorant that they cannot accept even the simplest mistakes they do.

My mind started racing with too many questions. I have been waiting for 15 minutes only to meet the wrong person. Suddenly ashara walks in and exclaims.

I sure did pass by, why didn’t you call me. She took off at the receptionist.

She sure was busy and dint give a cent for what I was talking.

Finally ashara was the lady who was in tight jeans and denim jacket.

Finally we greeted and exchanged a few words and I  walked out very impatient to check my vouchers.

I opened the envelope and checked for the voucher and was really smiling att the way in the elevator.

Oh my gosh!

A 1000 dirhams voucher to shop at tavola?

Thats kind of a dream come true.

It was the biggest gift won for just a small letter.

Later on I dropped in at mall of the Emirates to do a bit of shopping to go back to colombo.

I sure did have my two kids and was busy as a bee feeding the kids and shopping at times.

I sure did shop at tavola and got a few things for myself.

After all my work was done I walked towards the prayer section which has been moved to the top most level which is a bit of a hassel for those with kids. As the entrance is through the parking.

I walked towards the parking lot and saw a cleaner and asked for the way to the prayer room.

He insisted to help me and asked me to follow.

He even requested to push the pram. The weather was very hot and it’s not very easy to even walk in a parking lot. It’s like being steamed.

He strolled my stroller and guided me towards the prayer hall. I sometimes feel very sad to reward someone by cash as sometimes some may not like it. So I had to hand over a latte which I already had as a reward. The worker took it with a thank you and checked on the bottle. It was a Starbucks latter in a bottle.he smiled in glee as he saw the bottle.

Happiness lays in seeing others happy

These are a few chance encounters that helped me make this story. There have been many instances where people do help me with my baby stroller.

This time I was with two kids but when I was with nust the eldest one and had to go for an interview. A couple of ladies travelling to work helped my keep my son occupied by showing him videos and coming along with me to drop me at the destination.

That was just an unforgettable chance Encounter I’ve ever had. Who would even bother to care if am alone? People might wonder why do I have to travel with a baby. But passions needs it’s time or I may feel sad. There are no barriers to achieve our mind is the barrier.

Chance Encounter

2 thoughts on “The Stranger

Leave a Reply

