Dampfnudeln and Babka

I was watching the great british bake off bread week last week and found the different varieties of breads the contestants baked really interestedme.

I just wondered why haven’t I thought about these before?

The gbbo is a good show that is very informative and it can help us the viewers discover something new and radiant. The previous series had a puddings week which astound me and made me watch most of the episodes and get glued to it and watch for the next season. The puddings week educated me on how the puddings became into this world  from the very first method of making puddings to the latest trend. The word puddings means “dessert” in my part of the world but in ancient times it has been a savoury dish that consisted of meat which later developed into being made out of dried fruits and nuts with sugar. Whatever said and done i was perplexed at the history of puddings and the part when the worlds largest pudding was attempted in an European gathering to serve the guests.

While watching the latest episode i was perplexed  by the world Dampfnudeln.

Its a bake off and did they just mention dumplings and noodles in one word? That’s  right.

That was exactly what I was thinking.

I’ve seen dumplings. I’ve made and tasted noodles of a few sorts including the instant noodles. But I’ve never had both together.

Oh i was given 1 or maybe 2 minutes to go wild and imagine the dumplings filled with noodles baked in an oven. I know its my wierdest imagination but honestly thats all I Could think of and when the description for the Dampfnudeln was revealed I was perplexed again.

Com’on we were taught to steam buns and cakes in my cookery class back in colombo but I’ve never dared to try it and for sure it was not steamed in this form. Well I was all happy with smiles as if though I’ve discovered  a new technique which was very tricky as well as very cost savy.

Oh i bake and love baking but I do fear those electricity bills but if I can steam and get the same results why not try it.

I googled for a few recipes and tried the babka which was a funny name for a bread in my part of the world yet a very interesting technique.  I really enjoyed making it. It had a radiant look and the outcome perplexed me.

Finally i did the Dampfnudeln using the leftover dough of my babka and made the custard sauce to steam it using my knowledge and the recipe from an online site.

I was so concentrating on paul hollywoods advice that if we try and lift the lid to check the Dampfnudeln it may go down and the bread may not work so I gave the Dampfnudeln more time and finally ended up with burnt bottom Dampfnudeln. Well they had there bottoms burnt but the body was soft and perfectly risen with a smooth face. I am for sure gonna attempt again till then good night.

20160910_193439-640x480

<a href="https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/perplexed/">Perplexed</a>

Leave a Reply

